As its name suggests, hazardous waste can cause harm to people's health and life. That's why it needs to be managed with extreme caution since it has the real potential for causing environmental disasters.

A regulatory system for transporting hazardous waste within Canada was created by the Government of Canada to ensure better control over this type of waste.

Under the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TDGR), shippers, carriers, and handlers must comply with strict requirements when preparing or transporting hazardous residual materials, particularly by identifying them according to their class.

Our industrial and commercial waste management experts explain in detail the 9 classes of hazardous waste in Canada. 

The 9 classes of hazardous waste under TDGR

Hazardous materials are divided into nine classes by TDGR based on their potential hazards. These classes also apply to wastes and recyclable materials that are dangerous to humans and the environment.

Class 1: Explosives 

Since explosives are highly hazardous wastes, their transportation is regulated by a separate law in addition to the TDGR: the Act respecting explosives and its regulations.

The double regulation is a result of the materials' high dispersion potential and their dangerous nature. Having the authorization to purchase this type of product does not mean you can dispose of it yourself. You will need to contact an expert in hazardous waste management to do so.

Class 2: Gases

The class of gases includes 3 divisions: flammable gases, non-flammable and non-toxic gases and toxic or corrosive gases.

Although non-flammable gases may seem less dangerous than the other two categories, their transportation and handling require equal control. They could be potentially harmful to humans if they get into the air. 

Class 3: Flammable liquids

This class includes liquids or liquids containing solids in solution or suspension that release flammable vapours at a temperature of 60.5°C or less using the closed-cup method, or 65.6°C using the open-cup method.

Examples of daily used hazardous wastes in this class are fuel products, solvents or other consumer products.

Class 4: Flammable Solids; Substances Liable to Spontaneous Combustion; Substances That, on Contact with Water, Emit Flammable Gases (Water-Reactive Substances)

This class includes solid wastes that can easily ignite or cause a fire under friction, including transport.

Some waste materials in this class may heat up spontaneously when mixed with air or emit flammable gases at dangerous levels when mixed with water (water-reactive materials).

Class 5: Oxidizing substances and organic peroxides

Oxidizing waste materials emit oxygen and can provoke or contribute to the burning of materials nearby. Plus, these hazardous materials can speed up the spread of fire and aggravate it.

Organic peroxides are unstable, oxygen-containing organic compounds that may explosively decompose and dangerously react with other materials causing significant damage.

Class 6: Toxic materials and infectious substances 

Substances included in this class can cause death, serious injury, or harm to human health if swallowed, inhaled, or in contact with skin.

“Infectious materials” refers to substances containing microorganisms or toxins which can cause disease in animals or humans.

Understanding hazardous product labels can reduce the risk when dealing with them. 

Class 7: Radioactive materials

Radioactive materials, like explosives, are subject to even more strict regulations. There are 4 distinct classes of radioactive materials:

-    Low-level radioactive waste (LLRW)
-    Intermediate-level radioactive waste (ILW)
-    High-level radioactive waste (HLW)
-    Uranium mine and mill tailings

Radioactive materials and waste are regulated by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Class 8: Corrosive substances 

Contact with corrosive waste substances can cause serious damage to human tissue. They can also seriously damage or destroy other goods or equipment not suitable for them during transportation or handling.

Choosing appropriate equipment or packaging for hazardous materials is critical to prevent corrosion or burns. 

Class 9: Miscellaneous products, substances, or organisms

Wastes that are considered hazardous but do not meet the criteria for inclusion in any other class are identified as a dangerous material of Class 9.

 They are subject to the same transportation requirements as other hazardous materials.

Let EBI Enviro Urgence manage your hazardous

Now you know that various types of waste materials can be hazardous. All of them represent different risks and must be classified and managed accordingly.

The transport of dangerous goods also requires special accreditations, as well as accredited training in TDG.

You can trust EBI Enviro Urgence with the transportation and disposal of your hazardous waste materials to ensure they are handled with care and do not pose a threat to the environment.